Spanglish & Wanderlust

Freezing our Buns off for a New York Minute 

1 Comment

This weekend, my mom and I celebrated Galentine’s Day, Valentine’s Day, Presidents’ Day, and my birthday with a trip to New York City! We both had a long weekend off from work, so we packed our bags, boarded the bus, and ventured to the city on the coldest weekend of the decade.

View from the Brooklyn Bridge

We stayed at The Local, a hostel in Queens. I’m a huge fan of hostels, and I convinced my mom to try staying at one (she’s hip)! My philosophy is that the less you spend on each trip, the more trips you can take, and hostels are a great way to save on vacation expenses. The Local was a perfect spot for us, because it had a little bar/cafe area that was an ideal spot for reading and drinking in the evenings.

On our first day, we tried to see as many things as possible. We walked across the Brooklyn Bridge, and the view was beautiful (also, we froze). We had lunch at a burger place called Breakroom, walked to the 9/11 Memorial, and then went into a Barnes & Noble to escape the freezing wind (and, of course, to get new books).

On the Brooklyn Bridge

We spent the second day at the Met. I love traveling with my mom, because we have incredibly similar interests, but are both willing to do our own thing from time to time. At the Met, we took a tour together, then went our separate ways to explore different parts of the museum. I loved walking around the Asia 100 exhibit, headphones in, just wandering through the rooms.

My Galentine!

After leaving the Met, we ended the day at Strand Books, which is pretty much heaven for any book lover.   On our way from Strand back to The Local, we went through this gorgeous train station!  

Our next trip here will hopefully be in warmer weather! For now, back to the cobblestone streets and snowstorms in Boston. 🙂

Author: Samantha Bissell

Young professional in Boston with an incurable case of wanderlust. Email: samantha.e.bissell@gmail.com.

One thought on “Freezing our Buns off for a New York Minute 

  1. Pingback: Happiness Project: Month 4, Day 15  – Unpacking Happiness

Leave a comment